Katie, the Communications Intern: On New Beginnings

John Edward Svenson
Owl in Flight
Yellow Cedar, 2004
(Please excuse the poor lighting,
as the photo was taken on my phone)

Prior to starting this internship, I’d never been to the dA – or even the Pomona Arts Colony, for that matter. I’m not an artist (at least in the traditional sense of the word) and I wasn’t sure quite what to expect of a gallery located in the center of a thriving arts community. As someone who likes the arts but has never been much involved with them, I felt a bit like a poseur in a place solely dedicated to their appreciation.

However, a lot of that feeling vanished when walking around the dA’s latest exhibition, “Exhibit Love: for land…form…and humanity.” A wonderful thing about the dA is that it is so accessible; you don’t need a PhD in Art History to realize that there is beauty in every work on display. As cheesy as it sounds, I could really feel love emanating from each sculpture, painting, or sketch I encountered. My favorite piece, John Edward Svenson’s Owl in Flight, demonstrates his love of nature through every minute detail: from the curve of its talons to the span of its outstretched wings.

Since it’s only been two weeks that I’ve been interning here, I still don’t know much about art, but I feel like I’m learning a lot. Perhaps the greatest lesson so far was also the simplest: to appreciate the things around you, all you really need is an open mind. I’m really looking forward to spending more time here – where else can you find a workplace as beautiful as this?

Leave a Reply

