Evan, the Gallery Operations Intern: A Brief Update

Carving the block.

Every Wednesday I roll out of bed, grab my backpack, rush out the door, and forget to eat breakfast. The minutes fly by as I glance at the car’s clock; am I going to make it on time? I pull into a parking space directly in front of the dA- the door isn’t open yet! A sigh of relief. I tell myself I’m going to bed earlier tonight, but I know I’ll be doing it again tomorrow. This daily rush has simply become a part of the thrill of working here. The day may start with the same routine, but it will always end differently. Working at the dA is a bit like working on a piece of art; there is always something that can be improved upon to make it a bit more beautiful.

That being said, I have had a wide variety of tasks to accomplish throughout the week in preparation for the Second Saturday reception of Exhibit Love. My favorite project has been designing a logo to print on our bags in the gallery store. I decided that carving a linoleum block would be the best way to approach this, and I am pleased with the results. The next step is the most tedious: printing hundreds of bags by hand. However, the feeling of accomplishment I will have when I have completed the process will be worth the effort. It isn’t every day that I get to tell someone I make art at work!

A quick test print of the design.

Leave a Reply

