Katie, the Communications Intern: Touring the Past

I love this color! The cupboards in the kitchen of the Thornton-Lerma home were painted to match the vintage stove, which came with its original turquoise finish.

While I previously posted about learning about history through newspaper clippings, this week I got an actual look into the past through a tour of dA Board Member Kate Thornton’s home, the location of the upcoming Mad Men Cocktail Fundraiser.

Walking into the Thornton-Lerma home was a bit like stepping into the ‘50s and ‘60s. While my knowledge of those decades is mostly limited to what I’ve in Grease and Hairspray, I could immediately tell that the house was from another era – everything from the furniture to the vibrant color schemes screamed vintage. As Kate showed me around, I got to see various period pieces, including wire chairs from the ’50s and ‘60s, a light fixture shaped like a flying saucer from 1957, and a Frigidaire Flare stove from 1960 with its original turquoise finish. Even though I’m not familiar with interior design at all, it was amazing getting to see a glimpse of the past through all the furniture in the home.

What was also impressive was the collection of artwork scattered throughout the house; no matter where I looked, there was always some kind of art peeking out at me. In the process of making a program for the fundraiser, I got to hear all about the art collection from Kate. Compared to my house, where art lives only in tucked-away corners, the Thornton-Lerma home is a gallery, filled with pieces that they obviously love.

I don’t want to give away too much – you should definitely come to the fundraiser and check it out yourself! – but I had a blast getting to see a collection of vintage furniture and art that I’ve never been exposed to before. I’m also getting a strange urge to watch Mad Men, but that’s another story.

One thought on “Katie, the Communications Intern: Touring the Past

Leave a Reply

